Frustration Reigns

So I had my MRI follow up appointment yesterday. I took a three hour drive to find out that the MRI has just about useless and that I need a CT. I am so frustrated that I am at a loss for words. One year after the MRI was ordered and over a thousand dollars later, I am not much closer to finding the answer to my hip pain.

I did find some things out. Yes, there is damage to the labrum, but (that should be capitalized), BUT there are a few things potentially going on. There is a bone ridge (I think it is a ridge?) on the acetabulum, and there might be some rotation problems going on. I won’t know the answer of which is the culprit until the CT is completed. It has an estimated wait time of about a month. Doc McWeasley (my nickname for him) wants the CT done of both my hips to investigate what is going on with the right one. It has been acting up for the last month or so.

26572139001_6726f78b25

Photo Credit: howardpa58 Flickr via Compfight cc

In the terms of time, a month is fairly short. I mean, I did just wait one year (twelve *GASP!* months!) for an MRI, what is one more month? I’ve come up with ways to cope with my pain. I’ve modified my life to the point where I’m not sure what is modified anymore. I have a routine established when pain comes to visit and I cannot sleep. I take some form of PM pain medication and resign myself to a few nights on the recliner. I take sleep where I can get it.

I stretch everyday. I notice when I don’t. I didn’t get to stretch yesterday until later in the evening, and I felt it in my hips on the drive home. I might share my stretching routine later, but it is one I did research on based on my needs.

There is supposed to be a bit of a cold snap for the next few days, but I plan on riding after that passes. I hope to have myself and my horses in some other shape than round by the end of the month. There is a jackpot that I’d like to attend to see where I’m at and how well I can jockey my horses. Wish me luck!

Me sitting in the treeless in 2016

The plan is to continue riding Brown Mare in the TS. She doesn’t seem to throw me off balance in the turn. The TS also puts my feet forward and seems to help with my seat position. I might consider going back into rubber bands, but I’ll play that by ear during my warm up. The Red Rocket will continue to have the Treeless, it sits me back and keeps my feet forward. That seems to help the hip pain. I also feel like my hips move more when riding in the treeless, maybe because of the close contact.

Til the next time,

Robbi

3 thoughts on “Frustration Reigns”

  1. Ugh, that sucks! I feel for you.

    Here is a question, have you tried icing your hip? Icing helps a lot of people calm things down. It will sooth your hip and help get swelling down. Give it a try.

    Are you sleeping with a pillow in between your knees at night? It will help keep the hips parallel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve tried icing with little to no success 🙁 but I’ve seen some results with heat (rice bag in microwave mainly, but hot baths help too).
      I do sleep with a pillow between my knees when I’m on my side, if I’m sleeping on my tummy, I put the pillow on my shins.
      Thank you so much for the advice!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Really, no success with icing? Bummer.

        For how long do you try it? If I ice then it starts kicking in after an hour to two hours. The hip lays very deep within, it takes time to feel the effects of ice.

        Heat usually aggregates swelling more but do whatever it is to make you feel better.
        A lot of fellow hipsters swear to taking Epson salt baths. For me it didn’t do a thing but others swear by it. Worth a try.

        Have you tried adjusting your seat when sitting so the hip sits higher than your knees? Also could help some.

        Like

Leave a Reply

